Friday Fun Fact! #168

My, my, my, there certainly seems to be a lot of “farewells” happening in Orlando. The American Idol Experience at Hollywood Studios has been closed down, which didn’t matter much to me, but I was disappointed that The Studio Backlot Tour is no longer around.

So this week, when I discovered that Downtown Disney’s Disneyquest was closing, I about lost it. Now, I haven’t been to DQ in a few years, and while I’m aware that it may be out-dated, that place holds some special memories. It will be hard to not be able to revisit DQ again.

DisneyQuest-601x450

The virtual video game/arcade experience opened on June 19, 1998, and was meant to be the first in a chain of 20 centers. Apparently, our real-world technology advanced much more quickly for DQ to keep up with, and the past few years of numerous lackluster experiences being reported, forced the closing to happen.

Disneyquest resides in Downtown Disney, which is being renovated to reopen as Disney Springs. During this face lift, DQ will be replaced with the NBA Experience, something I am certainly not intrigued by in the least. Well, you can’t win them all, so as I say a silent goodbye to a place that holds special meaning to me, I’ll also remind myself that change is a way of life. Here’s to great new things!

charlotte

Source

5 thoughts on “Friday Fun Fact! #168

  1. I wish I had a chance to go! I’ve heard great things about it, but sadly have never been to DQ. Did you hear that the Magic of Disney Animation in Hollywood Studios is closing as well?

    • There are a lot of rumors flying around about closings. I’m not sure what started it all, but I’ve heard that Hollywood Studios may be closing a bunch of attractions. Fingers crossed that they’re just rumors. 🙂

Leave a comment